Smartly.io Review & Pricing (2026): No Price Page, a Percentage of Everything You Spend, and a 90-Day Exit Window
Smartly.io publishes no pricing — but its own Terms of Use publish the model: percentage-of-ad-spend, a monthly minimum, billed in arrears, on a 12-month auto-renewing term with 90 days' notice to cancel and no refunds. What the contract actually says, what the platform genuinely does, and why the fee base includes spend that never went through Smartly. Verified 2026-09-11.
Prices and limits last verified against the vendor on 2026-09-11.
This page covers both the evaluation and the money, because with Smartly the money is the evaluation: there is no price page to read, and the commercially decisive facts live in the Terms of Use rather than in any marketing material. The ranked list of substitutes is in Smartly.io alternatives.
Everything below was verified against Smartly's own pages on 2026-09-11. Where a figure comes from a third party it is labelled as such at the point of use.
A note on sourcing, because this category is unusually polluted. Search results for "Smartly pricing" are dominated by AI-generated competitor pages quoting precise-sounding figures — "3–5% of ad spend", "€5,000/month minimum", "$5,000–$15,000 onboarding" — with no primary citation, all published by companies selling an alternative. None of those numbers appear in any Smartly source and we do not repeat them as facts.
The Verdict In One Paragraph
Smartly is a genuinely capable enterprise advertising platform with the broadest first-party channel coverage in its category and a real, shipped AI orchestration layer. It is also one of the most commercially demanding contracts in ad tech, and almost none of that is visible until you are in a sales process. The three facts that should decide your evaluation are all in the Terms of Use: the fee is a percentage of your entire connected ad account whether or not you used Smartly to spend it; there is a monthly minimum that does not aggregate across subscriptions; and the default term is twelve months with automatic renewal and a ninety-day notice window. If you spend enough for the percentage to dominate the minimum, and you have the team structure the product assumes, it is a defensible buy. Below that threshold the maths turns against you fast, and the contract does not let you leave quickly when it does.
Pricing: What Is Actually Published
Nothing, on the pricing page — because there is no pricing page. Verified by direct request on 2026-09-11:
| URL | Status |
|---|---|
smartly.io/pricing | 404 |
smartly.io/plans, /pricing-plans | 404 |
smartly.io/signup, /sign-up, /register | 404 |
smartly.io/free-trial, /trial | 404 |
Smartly's sitemap contains 558 URLs and no pricing or plan page. The only commercial call to action on the entire site is /get-demo. There is no self-serve signup, no trial and no free tier; login.smartly.io offers no registration path.
What the Terms of Use do publish
This is the part almost nobody cites, and it is the most authoritative pricing source that exists. From Smartly's Terms of Use 2026, captured 2026-09-11:
The fee model (§5.1), verbatim:
"If Customer has multiple Subscriptions with spend-based pricing, (i) Advertising Spend is incurred under each Subscription separately and the Advertising Spend is not aggregated between Subscriptions and (ii) the fee shall be calculated and invoiced after each calendar month based on Customer's Advertising Spend. Unless expressly stated otherwise in an Order Form, at least a monthly minimum fee is charged for each full calendar month."
The fee base (§1.1.2), verbatim — and this is the clause to read twice:
"Advertising Spend" means all charges payable by Customer for all advertising conducted with respect to an Ad Account in the Online Advertising Platform and regardless of whether Customer conducted advertising campaigns using the Service or not."
The term (§9.1), verbatim:
"(ii) if the Initial Term is not specified in the Order Form, the Initial Term shall be 12 months; and (iii) after the expiry of the Initial Term each fixed Subscription term shall automatically renew… unless at least 90 days prior to the end of the Initial Term or then-current Renewal Term either Party gives… written notice"
And the rest: fees invoiced monthly in arrears on 30-day net terms with 12% annual interest on late payment (§5.3); Smartly may change pricing on 30 days' written notice, effective at renewal for fixed terms (§5.2); and on termination "no paid fees will be returned by Smartly.io" (§9.5).
So the model is officially confirmed even though no number is. Spend-based pricing, a monthly minimum, monthly arrears billing, a negotiated Order Form, a 12-month default auto-renewing term, a 90-day escape window, no refunds, and unilateral repricing rights.
The one third-party figure worth reporting
Vendr, a contract-negotiation marketplace that reports observed deal data, publishes a median of $90,000 per year, with a range from $25,500 to $171,240. Sample size is not disclosed on the page. This is third-party observed pricing, not a Smartly statement, and it is the only pricing figure in this article that did not come from Smartly itself.
Our reading: the §1.1.2 definition is the clause that should change how you model the cost. Most buyers assume a percentage-of-spend tool charges on spend it managed. Smartly's contract charges on the connected account. If you connect an account and route only part of it through the platform, you are paying on the whole thing. Ask for that to be scoped in the Order Form, because the default definition is not in your favour.
What It Genuinely Does Well
The channel coverage is the broadest in the category, and it is first-party. Dedicated product surfaces for Amazon, Google, Meta, Pinterest, Reddit, Roku, Snapchat, Spotify, TikTok and YouTube. Smartly's own press boilerplate names "strategic partnerships across major media platforms, including Amazon, Google, Meta, Pinterest, Reddit, Snap, Spotify, and TikTok." Connected TV reaches "200+ streaming services" with built-in DSP integrations, and open-web programmatic runs through DV360, Amazon DSP, Yahoo DSP and The Trade Desk. Very few platforms credibly span paid social, retail media, CTV and programmatic in one contract.
Feed-driven creative at scale is the mature part of the product. Dynamic Product Ads with AI-powered video and image templates across Meta, TikTok, Snapchat and Pinterest; unified catalog management across social channels in one UI; and Automated Ads, which Smartly describes as syncing "a data sheet, feed, or campaign launch document to Smartly to automatically create, archive, and update ads at scale." This is the capability the company was built on and it shows.
Smartly Synapse is a real shipped AI layer, not a slide. Announced 2026-06-22 at Cannes, described by the company's Chief Product Officer as "the intelligent AI orchestration and memory layer behind our AI agents." Three families: Planning Agents for forecasting and reach headroom; Execution Agents including a Campaign Assembly Agent that turns a brief or media plan into a live campaign; and Optimization Agents which, per Smartly, "With or without human input… autonomously adjust budgets across channels, rotate in new creative variants, and manage ad frequency."
Measurement that smaller platforms cannot offer. Brand Pulse provides "real-time, cross-channel deduplicated reach, frequency, and attention measurement" — genuinely hard to build and genuinely valuable if you buy across enough channels for deduplication to matter.
Scale is real. Smartly states it supports "800+ brands" and manages "over $7 billion in ad spend globally", with named customers including Samsung, Spotify, Uber Eats, Ralph Lauren, Tripadvisor, TUI, Boots, Foot Locker, KLM and The Times.
Where It Costs You Quietly
The monthly minimum, not the percentage, is the real price for most buyers. Below some spend threshold the minimum dominates and your effective take-rate climbs without limit. Smartly does not disclose the floor, so you cannot model this before a sales call — which is, in fairness, the point of not publishing it.
Minimums do not aggregate across subscriptions. §5.1 is explicit that Advertising Spend "is not aggregated between Subscriptions." Two subscriptions can mean two minimums. For a buyer who wants to add a second channel cautiously, that is a penalty for exactly the behaviour a careful buyer exhibits.
Capability is uneven per channel, and the pricing is not. Smartly's own site scopes Dynamic Creative Optimization to "across all Google channels" and Dynamic Product Ads to Meta, TikTok, Snapchat and Pinterest. Capterra reviewers corroborate it, noting some Facebook and Instagram capabilities are unavailable on other channels. If the one feature you are buying was built for a channel you do not use, you still pay full freight.
Support requires write access to your ad accounts. Terms §2.4: "To receive support, Customer must grant Smartly.io access to the relevant Ad Account(s)… Smartly.io personnel may also modify advertising campaigns and other settings in Customer's Ad Accounts." Reasonable for a managed relationship; worth knowing before your security review discovers it.
AI Studio appears to be separately subscribed. Terms §2.8.4 references AI Studio subscriptions and third-party "AI Licenses" under separate AI Additional Terms, which suggests the generative layer is not bundled by default. The commercial terms for it are not published.
The exit is the hardest term in the contract. Twelve-month auto-renew, ninety days' notice, no refunds. Miss the window by a day and you are in for another full year of a percentage-of-spend fee. For seasonal advertisers or anyone whose channel mix might change, this is the clause that should drive the negotiation.
What the Reviews Say
Capterra: 4.5/5 from 13 verified reviews, with Ease of Use at 4.0 and Customer Service at 4.7. Verbatim complaints:
- Cost: "An increase on its previous price which was quite attractive", with reviewers noting the percentage model penalises high-spend advertisers who only want a limited feature set.
- Support inconsistency: "The chat help feature is just 100% awful." Note the tension with the 4.7 service score — high marks attach to dedicated account management, which smaller accounts are least likely to receive.
- Learning curve: "I think the learning curve is a bit steep", with requests for more beginner material.
- Reliability: platform bugs causing missed deadlines, ad-scheduling reliability problems, and loading delays.
G2 reportedly shows 4.4/5 from 475 reviews with a Small-Business / Mid-Market / Enterprise split of roughly 19% / 51% / 30%, but that page returned HTTP 403 and we could not verify it directly; treat it as search-index-derived. TrustRadius and Gartner Peer Insights were likewise inaccessible. We found no retrievable practitioner discussion on Reddit.
Implementation time is not verifiable. Smartly publishes a multi-stage onboarding — strategic audit, implementation, team enablement — with no stated timeline and no SLA. Claims of "faster deployment than other enterprise platforms" appear only in the AI-generated competitor pages and should be disregarded.
Managed Services Are Part of the Offer, Not an Afterthought
This matters for fit assessment. Smartly's services page is explicit: "Want a painless launch, creative firepower, or someone to run the whole show? We've got the power to turn platform potential into business reality." There is a strategic audit at onboarding, a productised Smartly Global Creative Services line, and a published Uber Eats managed-services case study.
Our reading: read that as a statement about the product's operating requirements rather than as an upsell. A platform this broad needs operators, and the services line exists because most buyers need them. Budget for the people alongside the licence, or the licence underdelivers.
Who Should Buy It, and Who Should Not
Buy it if you spend across four or more of its supported channels at enterprise volume, have separate creative and media functions whose handoff is a real bottleneck, need deduplicated cross-channel measurement, and can absorb a twelve-month commitment. That is a narrow profile, and for it Smartly is one of very few credible options.
Do not buy it if you cannot model the cost before signing, if your spend is concentrated in one or two channels, if your budget is seasonal, if LinkedIn or X matter to you, or if you have no dedicated ad operations capacity. The platform is not the risk in those cases — the contract is.
Concretely, the disqualifying combination is: a monthly minimum you cannot see, applied to a fee base that includes spend you did not route through the tool, on a term you cannot exit for a year. Any one of those is negotiable. Get all three scoped in the Order Form before signing, or do not sign.
For a ranked shortlist of platforms that publish their prices and let you leave monthly, see Smartly.io alternatives.
See also the best Smartly.io alternatives and the full Smartly.io pricing breakdown.